• Contactless Returns and Holds Pickup Service at OPL

    30/07/2020

    OPL offers contactless returns and holds pickup service at select branches, during new hours of operation. 

    • RETURNS will be accepted only during hours of operation, no appointment necessary. Due dates for currently checked out materials have been extended and late fees suspended. 
       
    • HOLDS PICKUP: As of July 27, appointments are no longer needed to pick up holds, except at Rosemount (temporary location). You can pick up your available holds during opening hours at branches offering contactless service.    
       
    • Rosemount (temporary location) will offer curbside service starting Monday, July 27. Holds pickups are by appointment only at this location. 
       
    • UPDATE: Starting Monday, August 17, additional in-person services will be offered at select branches and new branch locations will reopen. Find out more.
       

    Masks are required to be worn inside Ottawa Public Library branches, as per the Temporary Mandatory Mask By-law. 
    For information about Library cards, virtual programs, and more, contact InfoService by phone or email. 

     

You are here

Central Library Development approved as a 2015-2018 Term of Council Strategic Initiative

Jul 8 2015

Ottawa – The Ottawa Public Library (OPL) is one step closer to realizing its vision for a new Central Library after City Council approved the Central Library development as a strategic initiative in the 2015 – 2018 Term of Council Priorities.

“This is great news for the Ottawa Public Library as we embark on developing a new Central Library in Ottawa,” said Tim Tierney, Chair, Ottawa Public Library Board and Councillor of Ward 11, Beacon Hill – Cyrville.  “Today’s approval signifies City Council’s support of the next steps toward a new build facility for learning, creation, and collaboration.”

With the approval of the Central Library development as a strategic initiative, staff will proceed with Stage 1 in project planning: prepare a Request for Expression of Interest (REOI) and Request for Information (RFI) in order to gauge potential interest in partnership opportunities in developing a new Central Library facility for Ottawa.

“This is an exciting project as a new Central Library has the potential to be a catalyst for economic development and tourism, and to elevate the level of citizen pride in our City,” said Mayor Jim Watson. “I’ve said it before, and with Council’s approval today I’m even more convinced, we can deliver a truly world-class facility for our nation’s capital.”

In the fall, the public will be asked to provide input into this stage of project planning. Specifically, input will be sought on characteristics for both building design concepts and location. Information on how the public will be involved will be available on the OPL website at BiblioOttawaLibrary.ca as well as OttawaCentralLibrary.ca.

The Ottawa Public Library (OPL) is the largest bilingual (English/French) public library system in North America, with 34 branches, physical and virtual at BiblioOttawaLibrary.ca, mobile libraries, and a vending machine library service. OPL’s mission is to inspire learning, spark curiosity, and connect people. Follow us on Twitter Twitter.com/OPL_BPO and like us on Facebook Facebook.com/BiblioOttawaLibrary. Contact us at 613-580-2940 or InfoService@BiblioOttawaLibrary.ca. If it’s out there, it’s in here!         

-30-

Media:
Communications
Ottawa Public Library
Communications@BiblioOttawaLibrary.ca

You are here

  • Service de retour et de collecte d'articles réservés à la BPO

    12/06/2020

    La BPO offre un nouveau service de retour et de collecte d’articles de bibliothèque aux six succursales suivantes: Centrale, Nepean Centrepointe, Cumberland, Beaverbrook, Greenboro, Ruth E. Dickson, avec un nouvel horaire de service.

    • Les RETOURS sont acceptés seulement pendant les heures d’ouverture, aucun rendez-vous n’est requis.
    • La COLLECTE D’ARTICLES se fait sur rendez-vous seulement. Pour apprendre plus au sujet des rendez-vous, cliquez ici.

    Les détails de ce nouveau service en bordure de rue se trouvent sur notre site web.

    • Les dates d'échéance pour tous les articles empruntés ont été prolongées et les frais de retard suspendus.
    • Tous les postes de retour demeurent fermés.

    Pour toute information sur les cartes de bibliothèque, les programmes virtuels, ou autre, communiquez avec InfoService par téléphone ou courriel.

Approbation du projet de Bibliothèque centrale en tant qu’initiative stratégique du mandat 2015-2018 du Conseil

mer, 2015/07/08

Ottawa – La Bibliothèque publique d’Ottawa (BPO) a franchi une autre étape pour concrétiser sa vision d’une nouvelle Bibliothèque Centrale après que le Conseil municipal d’Ottawa a approuvé ce projet d’aménagement en tant qu’initiative stratégique figurant parmi les priorités de son mandat 2015-2018.

« Voilà une excellente nouvelle pour la Bibliothèque publique d’Ottawa, qui s’apprête maintenant à construire une nouvelle Bibliothèque Centrale à Ottawa, a déclaré Tim Tierney, président du C.A. de la Bibliothèque publique d’Ottawa et conseiller municipal du quartier 11 – Beacon Hill-Cyrville. L’approbation annoncée aujourd’hui constitue une marque de soutien du Conseil municipal dans les prochaines étapes de la construction de cette installation d’apprentissage, de création et de collaboration. »

Grâce à l’approbation de l’aménagement de la Bibliothèque Centrale en tant qu’initiative stratégique, le personnel pourra aborder la première étape de la planification du projet, c’est-à-dire préparer une demande de manifestation d’intérêt et une demande d’information, destinées à mesurer le niveau potentiel d’intérêt de partenaires à l’égard de l’aménagement d’une nouvelle Bibliothèque Centrale à Ottawa.

« C’est un projet fascinant car une nouvelle Bibliothèque centrale pourrait devenir un catalyseur de développement économique et touristique, tout en stimulant la fierté citoyenne dans notre ville, a affirmé le maire Jim Watson. Comme je l’ai déjà dit, et l’approbation du Conseil aujourd’hui vient renforcer ma conviction, nous pouvons aménager une installation de classe mondiale dans notre capitale nationale. »

À l’automne, les membres du public seront invités à faire part de leurs commentaires, dans le cadre de la planification du projet. Ils pourront notamment donner leur opinion sur les caractéristiques conceptuelles de l’édifice et sur son emplacement. De l’information sur les moyens de participer sera proposée sur le site Web de la BPO, à l’adresse BiblioOttawaLibrary.ca, ainsi que sur BiblioCentraleOttawa.ca.                                                         

La Bibliothèque publique d’Ottawa (BPO) est le plus important réseau de bibliothèques publiques bilingues (français et anglais) en Amérique du Nord, avec 34 succursales, physiques et virtuelles, à l’adresse BiblioOttawaLibrary.ca, ainsi que deux bibliothèques mobiles et un service de prêt bibliothécaire par machine distributrice. La BPO a pour mission de promouvoir l’apprentissage continu, d’éveiller la curiosité et de rapprocher les personnes de tout âge. Suivez-nous sur Twitter Twitter.com/OPL_BPO et aimez-nous sur Facebook Facebook.com/BiblioOttawaLibrary. Communiquez avec nous au 613-580-2940 ou à InfoService@BiblioOttawaLibrary.ca. Si ça existe, on l’a!

- 30 -

Médias :
Communications
Bibliothèque publique d’Ottawa
Communications@BiblioOttawaLibrary.ca