• Current In-Person Services

    19/10/2020

    22 of our branches and the Bookmobile are open for modified services at this time. For details on our current in-person services, visit: https://biblioottawalibrary.ca/en/current-branch-services.

    Visit our Hours and Locations page for our current branch hours and our Bookmobile page for the current Bookmobile schedule.

    MANDATORY:  Masks are required to be worn inside Ottawa Public Library branches, as per theTemporary Mandatory Mask By-law. Customers who are not wearing masks will not be allowed inside branches. Exceptions apply for people with medical exemptions.

You are here

OPL expands returns and holds pickup services to more locations

Jun 25 2020

Ottawa – As part of its phased approach to resuming physical Library services, Ottawa Public Library will be allowing customers to reserve new Library items, and expand its returns and holds pickup service to more branch locations in the coming weeks. 

NEW UPDATES 

Monday, June 29: New holds begin 

Starting June 29, customers will be able to reserve new Library items, with a limit of 20 holds per customer. This temporary cap will help manage the volume of requests and allow materials to get out to customers in a timely and efficient manner. 
 

Monday, July 6: Curbside Service becomes Contactless Service 

Starting July 6, customers will be able to come inside the six currently open branches to pick up their holds and borrow them using the checkout machines. 

At this time, appointments will be required for customers who wish to pick up their available holds. 

Physical distancing requirements and enhanced cleaning protocols will be followed at each branch offering the service. 

 

Mid-July to mid-August: Contactless Service Expands 

The returns and holds pickup contactless service will be expanded to these branches following this anticipated timeline (subject to change). 

  • Monday, July 13: Carlingwood, Carp, Greely, North Gloucester, St. Laurent, Stittsville. 
  • Monday, July 27: Alta Vista, Blackburn Hamlet, Centennial, Elmvale Acres, Emerald Plaza
  • Monday, August 10: Sunnyside, Hazeldean, Manotick, Orleans, Richmond, Rideau, Vanier 

The opening date for the following branches remains to be determined: Constance Bay, Fitzroy Harbour, Metcalfe Village, Munster, North Gower, Osgoode, Rockcliffe Park, Rosemount (Depot), Vernon, Kiosk, Bookmobile 

Further details regarding reopening will be shared on the OPL website and social media channels as branches prepare to open for contactless service. 

 

RETURNS 

Borrowed Library material can be returned to branches open for contactless service during hours of operation. No appointment is required to return Library items.  

Due dates on all checked-out Library items have been extended to give customers plenty of time to return their library materials. 

OPL cannot accept book donations at this time. 

 

Ottawa Public Library continues to work on a plan to safely provide the use of public computers and WiFi at its branches open for contactless service. Public computers and WiFi are not currently available for use. 

The timeline for other OPL reopening priorities, such as browsing a limited collection or accessing various spaces, remain to be determined pending further easing of restrictions by the provincial government. 

The health and safety of employees and customers remains OPL’s priority. OPL’s phased plan to resume physical services incorporates physical distancing requirements, enhanced sanitary controls, and protocols for employees and customers.  Ottawa Public Library continues to follow direction from the Province of Ontario and guidance from Ottawa Public Health to stop the spread of COVID-19 in our community. 

For additional details on the expansion of the returns and holds pickup service, please visit BiblioOttawaLibrary.ca. 

The Ottawa Public Library (OPL) is the largest bilingual (English/French) public library system in North America. The OPL extends public access to information and services through the library’s 34 branches, physical and virtual at www.BiblioOttawaLibrary.ca, as well as two mobile libraries and a vending machine-style lending library service. Serving close to one million Ottawa residents, OPL’s mission is to inspire learning, spark curiosity, and connect people. Follow us on Twitter www.Twitter.com/OPL_BPO and like us on Facebook www.Facebook.com/OPLBPO. Contact us at 613-580-2940 or InfoService@BiblioOttawaLibrary.caIf it’s out there, it’s in here!  

-30-

Media: Media@BiblioOttawaLibrary.ca

Services offerts en succursale

18/11/2020

SUCCURSALES OUVERTES: 22 de nos succursales et le Bibliobus sont actuellement ouverts avec des services modifiés.

Des succursales additionnelles rouvriront avec un service de retour et de collecte d’articles réservés sans contact cet automne et au début de l’hiver. Détails:  https://biblioottawalibrary.ca/fr/blogs/mises-%C3%A0-jour-nouvelles-dates-de-r%C3%A9ouverture-de-succursales

HORAIRES ET EMPLACEMENTS: pour les heures d’ouverture des succursales

BIBLIOBUS: pour l’horaire actuel des arrêts du Bibliobus

OBLIGATOIRELe port du masque est obligatoire à l'intérieur des succursales de la Bibliothèque publique d'Ottawa, conformément au Règlement temporaire sur le port obligatoire d’un masque. Les clients qui ne portent pas de masque ne seront pas autorisés à entrer dans les succursales. Des exceptions s'appliquent aux personnes avec exemption médicale.

You are here

OPL expands returns and holds pickup services to more locations

jeu, 2020/06/25

Ottawa – Dans le cadre de son approche pour la reprise graduelle des services en personne, la Bibliothèque publique d’Ottawa (BPO) permettra aux clients de réserver de nouveaux articles de bibliothèque et offrira son service de retour et de collecte d’articles à d’autres succursales dans les prochaines semaines. 

NOUVEAUTÉS 

Lundi 29 juin : début des réservations pour les nouveaux articles 

À compter du 29 juin, les clients pourront réserver de nouveaux articles de bibliothèque (limite de 20 par client). Ce plafond temporaire aidera à gérer le volume de demandes et fera en sorte que les articles parviendront aux clients rapidement et efficacement. 

Lundi 6 juillet : la collecte en bordure de rue devient la collecte sans contact 

À compter du 6 juillet, les clients pourront se rendre à l’intérieur des six succursales actuellement ouvertes pour aller chercher leurs articles et les emprunter au moyen des postes de prêt. 

Les clients qui désirent venir chercher leurs articles disponibles devront prendre rendez-vous. 

Les consignes en matière d’éloignement physique seront respectées et des protocoles de nettoyages seront en place dans chaque succursale offrant ce service. 

Mi-juillet à mi-août : le service sans contact prend de l’expansion 

Le service de retours et de collecte sans contact sera offert dans les autres succursales selon cet échéancier (sujet à changement) : 

  • Lundi 13 juillet : Carlingwood, Carp, Greely, Gloucester Nord, St-Laurent, Stittsville. 
  • Lundi 27 juillet : Alta Vista, Blackburn Hamlet, Centennial, Elmvale Acres, Emerald Plaza. 
  • Lundi 10 août : Sunnyside, Hazeldean, Manotick, Orléans, Richmond, Rideau, Vanier 

La date d’ouverture de ces succursales et services reste à déterminer : Constance Bay, Fitzroy Harbour, Metcalfe, Munster, North Gower, Osgoode, Rockcliffe Park, Rosemount (dépôt), Vernon, les kiosques et le Bibliobus. 

Des précisions sur la réouverture des succursales viendront à mesure qu’elles se préparent à offrir les services sans contact. 

 

RETOURS 

Les articles empruntés à la bibliothèque doivent être retournés dans les succursales où les services sans contact sont offerts, pendant les heures d’ouverture. Vous n’avez pas besoin de prendre rendez-vous pour le faire. 

La date d’échéance de tous les articles empruntés a été repoussée pour que les clients aient amplement le temps de les rapporter. 

La BPO ne peut accepter de dons de livres en ce moment. 

 

La Bibliothèque publique d’Ottawa continue de travailler à un plan pour permettre à ses clients d’accéder aux ordinateurs et au WiFi de façon sécuritaire, dans les succursales où les services sans contact sont offerts. Pour l’instant, il n’est pas possible d’utiliser les ordinateurs et le WiFi. 

Le calendrier d’ouverture des autres services prioritaires de la BPO – comme l’accès à une collection limitée ou à différents espaces – dépendra de la levée éventuelle des restrictions gouvernementales. 

La santé et la sécurité des employés et des clients demeurent la priorité de la BPO. Le plan de reprise graduelle des services en personne de la Bibliothèque tient compte des exigences d’éloignement physique, des mesures d’hygiène accrues à mettre en place ainsi que des protocoles qui s’appliqueront aux employés et aux clients. La Bibliothèque publique d’Ottawa continue de suivre les recommandations du gouvernement de l’Ontario et les conseils de Santé publique Ottawa pour freiner la propagation de la COVID19 dans la ville. 

Pour en savoir plus sur l’élargissement du service de retour et de collecte d’articles de bibliothèque, visitez BiblioOttawaLibrary.ca/fr

La Bibliothèque publique d’Ottawa (BPO) est le plus important réseau de bibliothèques publiques bilingues (français et anglais) en Amérique du Nord, avec 34 succursales, physiques et virtuelles, à l’adresse BiblioOttawaLibrary.ca, ainsi que deux bibliothèques mobiles et un service de prêt bibliothécaire par machine distributrice. La BPO a pour mission de promouvoir l’apprentissage continu, d’éveiller la curiosité et de rapprocher les personnes de tout âge. Suivez-nous sur Twitter Twitter.com/OPL_BPO et aimez-nous sur Facebook Facebook.com/BiblioOttawaLibrary. Communiquez avec nous au 613-580-2940 ou à InfoService@BiblioOttawaLibrary.ca. Si ça existe, on l’a!

-30-

Médias Media@BiblioOttawaLibrary.ca