Cannabis and the Older Adult

View Previous

Financial Health

Cannabis and the Older Adult – Ottawa Public Health

According to StatsCan, Seniors are the age group showing the most growth in cannabis usage.

Cannabis use is less common among seniors than it is in other age groups (7%, compared with 10% at ages 45 to 64, 25% at ages 25 to 44, and 26% at ages 15 to 24). However, cannabis consumption among seniors has been accelerating at a much faster pace than it has among other age groups. For example, in 2012, less than 1% of seniors (about 40,000) reported using, contrasting sharply with estimates from 2019 indicating that more than 400,000 seniors have used cannabis in the past three months.

Cannabis has changed over the years!

The potency of cannabis has increased over the years; it is quite different from 30, 40 or 50 years ago. Further, age-related changes make older adult more likely to experience harm from cannabis use; aging changes body and mind functions, altering how cannabis is processed.

Cannabis is a plant-based drug that contains chemicals called cannabinoids. The most common cannabinoids are THC (tetrahydrocannabinol) and CBD (cannabidiol). THC affects your brain making you feel “high”, changing how you think, feel and act. The higher the THC potency, the greater the feeling of intoxication. It is THC that is mostly responsible for the health risks associated with cannabis. CBD does not cause intoxicating effects and can lessen the effects of THC.

The increasing popularity of cannabis among older adults has also contributed to an increase in the average age of cannabis users, which has risen from 29.4 years in 2004 to 38.1 in 2019.

Why does cannabis affect older adults differently?

As we age, our body functions get slower. THC affects the already slower aging brain by decreasing memory, reducing coordination and negatively affecting the ability to concentrate, think and make decisions. The older adult’s slower digestive system, with reduced liver and kidney functions, affects how the body metabolizes and removes drugs like cannabis. Changes to muscles, bones and sensory functions (vision, hearing, smell) can increase risks of falls and injury among older adults. These risks are greater when using THC. Cannabis can also interfere with prescription drugs and over-the-counter medications. It can be consumed in different ways but older adults with existing heart conditions who smoke cannabis are at increased risk of having a cardiac event such as stroke, heart attack or arrythmias.

Older adults with the following conditions should avoid using cannabis:

  • A history of mental health or substance use disorders
  • Cognitive impairment such as memory loss, difficulty thinking or concentrating
  • Heart or blood diseases such as arrhythmia, heart disease, unstable blood pressure
  • Problems with balance and coordination.

Making informed choices requires access to credible information

Many options exist for reading, watching, exchanging or listening to information about cannabis. Unfortunately, anecdotal information reveals that some older adults are perceiving cannabis as a miracle drug, are misinformed about the risks associated with its use, and are having difficulty deciphering between credible versus false information about cannabis. For older adults interested in using medical cannabis, the evidence is still emerging. OPH encourages older adults to consult a health care provider or pharmacist before starting.

In collaboration with community partners, OPH is working to increase older adults’ awareness of the risks associated with cannabis use through various initiatives which include the use of social media, information sessions, and resources that specifically target the 55 plus age group. Making informed choices starts with understanding what the evidence says about the health and safety risks.

Visit Ottawa.ca/Cannabis for more information about cannabis and older adults.

Credits

Photos: Enecta Cannabis Extracts and Thought Catalog, Unsplash.

Video: Ontario Cannabis Store. (2019, Feb 27).  The Endocannabinoid System. Retrieved from https://youtu.be/xe6MinfJSkY

Cannabis and the Older Adult

View Previous

Financial Health

Le cannabis chez les personnes âgées – Santé Publique Ottawa

D'après StatsCan, les personnes âgées ont affiché la plus forte croissance en matière de consommation de cannabis. Les personnes âgées ont moins tendance à consommer du cannabis que les personnes des autres groupes d'âge (7 % par rapport à 10 % pour les personnes de 45 à 64 ans, à 25 % pour les personnes de 25 à 44 ans et à 26 % pour les personnes de 15 à 24 ans). Cependant, la consommation de cannabis chez les personnes âgées a enregistré une progression bien plus rapide que chez les personnes des autres groupes d'âge. En 2012, par exemple, moins de 1 % des personnes âgées (environ 40 000) ont déclaré consommer, ce qui représente un fort contraste avec les estimations de 2019 indiquant que plus de 400 000 personnes âgées avaient consommé du cannabis au cours des trois mois précédents.

Le cannabis a changé avec les années!

Il est plus puissant qu’il y a 30, 40 ou 50 ans, et comme le vieillissement change le fonctionnement du corps et de l’esprit, les aînés assimilent le cannabis différemment et sont plus enclins à en subir les effets néfastes.

Le cannabis est une plante qui contient des substances chimiques appelées cannabinoïdes. Le THC (tétrahydrocannabinol) et le CBD (cannabidiol) sont les cannabinoïdes les plus communs. Le THC agit sur le cerveau pour procurer une sensation d’euphorie et change la façon dont on se sent, pense et agit. Plus la teneur en THC est élevée, plus l’effet d’intoxication se fait sentir. Les risques pour la santé associés au cannabis sont principalement dus au THC. Le CBD ne cause aucun effet intoxicant et peut même atténuer les effets du THC.

La popularité croissante du cannabis chez les adultes plus âgés a également contribué à accroître l'âge moyen des consommateurs de cannabis, lequel est passé de 29,4 ans en 2004 à 38,1 ans en 2019.

Pourquoi le cannabis affecte-t-il les aînés différemment?

Avec l’âge, les fonctions de notre organisme ralentissent. Le THC affecte les fonctions cérébrales déjà ralenties par le vieillissement, ce qui nuit à la mémoire, à la concentration, à la coordination et à la capacité de réfléchir et de prendre des décisions. Le système digestif est ralenti et les fonctions hépatique et rénale sont altérées, ce qui perturbe le métabolisme et la façon dont le corps élimine les drogues comme le cannabis. De plus, l’affaiblissement des muscles, des os et des fonctions sensorielles (vue, ouïe et odorat) peut augmenter les risques de chutes et de blessures. Ces risques sont d’autant plus élevés s’il y a consommation de THC. Le cannabis peut aussi altérer les effets des médicaments sur ordonnance ou sans ordonnance. Il peut être consommé de différentes façons, mais les aînés souffrant de problèmes cardiaques qui fument du cannabis sont plus à risque de subir un incident cardiaque, comme un accident vasculaire cérébral, une crise cardiaque ou un épisode d’arythmie.

Les aînés souffrant des problèmes suivants devraient éviter le cannabis :

  • Antécédents de problèmes de santé mentale ou de toxicomanie;
  • Troubles cognitifs comme des pertes de mémoire et de la difficulté à réfléchir ou à se concentrer;
  • Maladies cardiovasculaires telles que l’arythmie, les maladies cardiaques ou une tension artérielle instable;
  • Problèmes d’équilibre et de coordination.

Pour prendre des décisions éclairées, il faut avoir accès à de l’information fiable

Plusieurs ressources écrites, vidéo ou audio peuvent vous éclairer ou vous permettre d’échanger sur le sujet. Malheureusement, quelques données révèlent que certains aînés voient le cannabis comme un remède miracle, sont mal informées sur les risques qui y sont associés et font mal la distinction entre l’information fausse et l’information crédible sur le sujet. Il demeure que les données sur la consommation de cannabis à des fins médicales chez les aînés sont encore embryonnaires. SPO recommande aux aînés de consulter un fournisseur de soins de santé ou un pharmacien avant de commencer à consommer cette drogue.

Avec ses partenaires communautaires, SPO œuvre à sensibiliser les aînés aux risques associés au cannabis de différentes façons : médias sociaux, séances d’information et autres ressources s’adressant spécifiquement aux 55 ans et plus. La prise de décisions éclairées commence par la compréhension des données probantes en matière de risques pour la santé et la sécurité.

Pour en savoir plus sur le cannabis et les aînés, visitez ottawa.ca/lecannabis.

Crédits

Images : Enecta Cannabis Extracts et Thought Catalog, Unsplash.

Vidéo : Ontario Cannabis Store. (2019, Feb 27). Le système endocannabinoïde . Récupérer de https://youtu.be/cun5mlUyPfs