Of Birds and Bees

View Previous

The Future of Food

View Next

Think Outside

Food and Friendship

Meals that build community

Old Forge Podcast

For Fran Bott, the best part of the Old Forge’s luncheon program for seniors is not actually the food, but the friends she has made there. Fran is a regular; she’s been coming to the luncheon program every two weeks since 2005, and likes everything about it – the food, the entertainment, and especially the people she has gotten to know. The weekly luncheon is a popular program at the Old Forge Community Resource Centre on Carling Ave. Every Wednesday for over 20 years, 10-20 seniors have gathered for a hot lunch, followed by entertainment – a musical performer, perhaps a guest speaker, or occasionally, a good game of bingo.

Photo of a senior shaking hands

Participants of the luncheon received the visit of Parrot Partners

Vanessa Jackson, Day Program Manager at Old Forge, feels that the program is a great way for seniors, who may be socially isolated, to get together with their peers. And how better to get to know someone than over a delicious hot meal? The nutritious lunches offered by the program are catered by Ottawa’s Timesaver Foods, specializing in low-sodium meals prepared with fresh healthy ingredients. According to not only Fran but all the guests we spoke to, the meal is always enjoyable, with lasagna the agreed-upon favourite! Guests at the Old Forge luncheon program seem to be in accord with Canada’s new Food Guide that healthy eating is not just what you eat, but how you eat. The Food Guide emphasizes the importance of eating with others, particularly for seniors, who often tend to eat alone, resulting in a sense of isolation which affects how much and how nutritiously they eat. 

Anita, another luncheon program regular, agrees that socialization is paramount. A self-described “people person”, Anita comes every week to talk to friends and learn new things. Long-time regulars Ed Blakeney and his wife Lois Frasier-Blakeney concur that they don’t come just for the meal. It’s fun to get out and meet other people, and they both like the variety of entertainment offered. Travelogues and speakers on different topics keep them interested. A recent favourite was a talk on parrot rehabilitation, accompanied by several parrots. Ed and Lois are enthusiastic participants in many Old Forge programs, and appreciate learning about other community services through the Old Forge.

Photo of seniors doing exercise

Stretching and moving after a good meal

Vanessa hopes that the luncheon gives seniors like Ed and Lois the opportunity not only to get together with their peers over a hot meal, but also to form connections within the community and become aware of the many community resources on offer. A Day Program, recreational and craft sessions, and annual tax clinics are just some of the community support programs available at Olde Forge. Their information and referral service widens the circle by linking seniors with other services in the community at large. More than just a meal, Olde Forge’s Luncheon Program is part of a wholistic approach to healthy living for seniors. More importantly, it’s fun for all!

Credits

  • Photographs: Courtesy of Vanessa Jackson, Olde Forge

De bons repas entre amis

De bons repas entre amis

Des repas qui bâtissent des communautés

Baladodiffusion Olde Forge

Ce que Fran Bott préfère du programme de dîners pour adultes plus âgés du Old Forge, ce ne sont pas les repas eux-mêmes, mais les amitiés qu’elle y noue. Fran est une habituée – elle est du rendez-vous toutes les deux semaines depuis 2005 –, et chacune des facettes de l’activité lui plaît : la nourriture, le divertissement et surtout les rencontres. Le repas hebdomadaire est un programme populaire au Centre de ressources communautaires Old Forge, sur l’avenue Carling. Chaque mercredi, depuis plus de 20 ans, de 10 à 20 aînés se réunissent pour un repas chaud suivi d’un divertissement – un spectacle de musique ici, une conférence là, et parfois même une bonne partie de bingo.

Photo of a senior shaking hands

Les participants du programme ont reçu la visite de Parrot Partners

Vanessa Jackson, gestionnaire du programme de jour au Old Forge, voit dans cette activité une belle occasion pour les aînés, qui souffrent parmi d’isolement social, de se réunir avec des gens de leur âge. Et quelle meilleure façon de tisser des liens qu’autour d’un bon repas chaud? Ces dîners nutritifs sont concoctés par Timesaver Foods, une entreprise d’Ottawa spécialisée en préparation de plats à base d’ingrédients frais et sains et à faible teneur en sel. Fran et les autres participants que nous avons consultés sont unanimes : les plats sont toujours délicieux. Le coup de cœur général? La lasagne! Les participants semblent être d’accord avec le nouveau Guide alimentaire canadien, selon lequel les habitudes alimentaires ne concernent pas seulement ce qu’on mange, mais comment on le mange. Le Guide alimentaire met l’accent sur l’importance de prendre ses repas en bonne compagnie, surtout pour les aînés, qui ont souvent tendance à manger seuls; le sentiment d’isolement qu’ils éprouvent diminue leur appétit et la qualité de leur alimentation.

Anita, une autre habituée, croit elle aussi que l’aspect social est primordial. Se décrivant comme une « personne très sociable », elle vient chaque semaine pour échanger avec ses amis et apprendre de nouvelles choses. Ed Blakeney et sa femme Lois Frasier-Blakeney sont de fidèles participants de longue date, et pour eux aussi, ça va au-delà des repas. Ils aiment sortir et rencontrer des gens, et ils apprécient tous deux la variété des activités offertes. Ils affectionnent particulièrement les récits de voyage et les conférences de toutes sortes; récemment, ils ont bien aimé une présentation sur la réhabilitation des perroquets, qui leur a donné l’occasion d’en voir plusieurs en chair et en os. Le couple participe avec enthousiasme à plusieurs programmes du Old Forge et est heureux de découvrir d’autres services communautaires grâce à l’organisme.

Photo of seniors doing exercise

On s’étire et on bouge après un bon repas

Le souhait de Vanessa, c’est que les dîners donnent aux adultes plus âgés, comme Ed et Lois, l’occasion non seulement de se réunir pour un bon repas chaud, mais aussi de nouer des liens dans leur milieu et de prendre connaissance des nombreuses ressources communautaires à leur disposition. L’Old Forge propose entre autres un programme de jour, des séances de loisirs et d’artisanat, des comptoirs de préparation de déclaration de revenus ainsi qu’un service d’information et d’aiguillage qui fait le pont entre les aînés et les services qui sont hors de leur cercle habituel.Offrant bien plus que des repas, le programme de dîners du Olde Forge s’inscrit dans une vision holistique du « vivre sainement » pour les adultes plus âgés. Mais avant tout, il procure du plaisir à tous les participants!

Crédits

  • Photographies : Gracieuseté de Vanessa Jackson, Olde Forge