Brain Health

View Previous

Active Living

Brain Health

Alzheimer Society Music Project

Image of a person listening to music with headphones while seated in a chair

Staff from the Alzheimer's Society Day Program will set up clients with music on an MP3 player during rambunctious and loud activities that may cause anxiety and aggression with certain clients. This has proven to keep clients happy and calm.

If you had to make a soundtrack of your life, what would be on it? And if, toward the end of your life, your mind and memories were fading away, would this soundtrack help bring them back? The Alzheimer Society’s Music Project provides personalized playlists on MP3 players to people with dementia and Alzheimer’s to reconnect them with the soundtrack of their lives.

Listening to personalized music can be a powerful activity for those with dementia or Alzheimer’s. Music has the potential to increase physical and social activity; reignite old memories; and improve sleep, mood, cognition, communication, and overall quality of life. Louise Noble, Executive Director with the Alzheimer’s Society, recounts the time she was showing a caregiver how to use the MP3 player for her husband. “When we put the earphones on her husband with dementia, who had not spoken a word in some time, pressed play and he suddenly states ‘I like this!’. His wife was stunned and filled with joy to see and hear such a reaction. This is the power of the Music Project”.

The Alzheimer’s Society of Toronto was inspired by the documentary titled Alive Inside: The Story of Music and Memory, which shows the difference music makes in the lives of people even in the later stages of dementia and Alzheimer’s. In 2013, the Alzheimer’s Society of Toronto received a grant and started the Alzheimer’s Society Music Project. Now, many Alzheimer Societies across Ontario provide the free service.

Photo of woman listening to music through headphones

Studies show that music interventions help to reduce agitation, aggression, irritability, restlessness, unwanted verbal behaviors and wanderings in persons with Alzheimer's disease.

Family, caregivers and friends of a person living with dementia or Alzheimer’s can apply online to receive a personalized kit. Each kit contains one MP3 player with a charging cable, wall charger, over-the-ear headphones, and free music setup of personalized music for that person. Thanks to generous donations, the Alzheimer’s Society can purchase the music and devices to provide this service for free.

These kits may provide comfort and joy not only to the those with Alzheimer’s or dementia but also their caregivers. Music can create a pleasant distraction for people living with Alzheimer’s or dementia. They are less anxious because they are engaged, allowing the caregiver some down time to make a cup of tea, make a phone call or catch up on some reading.

Amy Clements-Cortes and Lee Bartel from the University of Toronto researched the response to music therapy in their study Are We Doing More Than We Know? Possible Mechanisms of Response to Music Therapy. The study explores how: “Musical interventions with adults with cognitive impairments have received increased attention over the past few years, such as the value of personalized music listening in the [music] project for Alzheimer’s disease; music as a tool to decrease agitation and anxiety in dementia; and music to aid in episodic memory.”

Louise Noble: “a recently published study in the Journal of Prevention of Alzheimer’s Disease found that, the part of your brain responsible for what is called the Autonomous Sensory Meridian Response (ASMR) does not get lost to Alzheimer’s disease. Alzheimer’s disease tends to put people into layers of confusion and the study confirms that music can sometimes lift people out of the Alzheimer’s haze and bring them back to at least a semblance of normality, if only for short while.” She recounts a perfect example of this, when she watched a gentleman in one of the day programs get agitated during a rambunctious and louder activity: “Staff set him up with an MP3 player, he closed his eyes and his whole demeanor changed. He started tapping his foot and mouthing the words to the song in complete bliss. He was no longer anxious or agitated by the activities around him”.

Clements-Cortes and Bartel’s article emphasizes this point, saying that “Research has demonstrated that music interventions help to reduce agitation, aggression, irritability, restlessness, unwanted verbal behaviors and wandering in persons with Alzheimer’s disease. Persons with dementia exhibit these types of behaviors in response to something that is or is not in their environment. For example, a person may be agitated because he/she does not recognize their surroundings and does not feel safe. During these periods engaging the person in music, activating the mechanism of associated emotion or memory can help change their mood and emotions, while providing a feeling of connection to another and feelings of safety.”

Individuals in our community and across Canada have been revitalized through the simple experience of listening to music. If you are looking to reconnect your loved one with the soundtrack of their life, visit the Alzheimer Society Music Project’s website or contact them at (613) 224-1400, info@ottawarenfrew.alzheimeront.org  

Credits

  • Pictures in story provided by the Alzheimer’s Society
  • Music in podcast: "Felt Lining", “For We Shall Know Speed”, “Bombadore”, “Tiny Water Glass”  and “Home Home at Last” by Blue Dot Sessions (https://sessions.blue/)

Santé du cerveau

Santé du cerveau

Le projet musique de la Société Alzheimer

Image of a person listening to music with headphones while seated in a chair

Le personnel du programme de jour de la Société Alzheimer installent leurs clients avec de la musique sur un lecteur MP3 lors d'activités bruyantes afin d'éviter l'anxiété et l'agressivité chez certains clients. Cela permet de garder les clients heureux et calmes.

Si vous deviez constituer la bande originale de votre vie, quels morceaux y figureraient? Et si, à la fin de votre existence, votre mémoire et vos souvenirs vous faisaient défaut, ces mélodies pourraient-elles les raviver? L’idée du projet musical de la Société Alzheimer, c’est de fournir des lecteurs MP3 et des listes d’écoute personnalisées à des personnes atteintes de démence et d’Alzheimer pour les faire renouer avec la musique de leur vie.

Écouter de la musique personnalisée peut être hautement bénéfique pour elles. La musique est un moyen de favoriser l’activité sociale et physique, de réveiller d’anciens souvenirs et d’améliorer le sommeil, l’humeur, les facultés cognitives, la communication et la qualité de vie globale. Louise Noble, directrice générale de la Société Alzheimer se remémore la fois où elle a montré à une aidante comment utiliser le lecteur MP3 avec son conjoint. « Quand nous avons mis un casque à son mari atteint de démence, qui n’avait pas prononcé un mot depuis un certain temps, et que nous avons appuyé sur le bouton de lecture, il s’est soudain écrié : “J’aime ça!” Sa femme, toute joyeuse, n’en revenait pas de sa réaction. Voilà la force de notre projet musical. »

La Société d’Alzheimer de Toronto s’est inspirée du documentaire Alive Inside: The Story of Music and Memory, qui montre comment la musique change la vie des personnes aux prises avec la démence et l’Alzheimer, même à des stades avancés. En 2013, la Société a lancé son projet musical grâce à l’obtention d’une bourse. Aujourd’hui, de nombreuses antennes de la Société Alzheimer en Ontario offrent ce service gratuit.

Photo of woman listening to music through headphones

Selon les recherches, le recours à la musique contribue à réduire l'agitation, l'agressivité, l'irritabilité, la nervosité, les comportements verbaux non désirés et l'errance des personnes atteintes d"Alzheimer.

La famille, les aidants et les amis d’une personne vivant avec la démence ou la maladie d’Alzheimer peuvent demander en ligne à recevoir une trousse personnalisée. Chaque trousse contient un lecteur MP3 avec un câble et un chargeur mural, un casque et une liste d’écoute gratuite personnalisée. C’est grâce à de généreux dons que la Société Alzheimer peut offrir les appareils et la musique gratuitement.

Les trousses apportent joie et réconfort non seulement aux malades, mais aussi à leurs aidants. La musique constitue parfois une distraction plaisante pour les personnes qui font face à la démence ou à la maladie d’Alzheimer. Elle réduit leur anxiété en les occupant, ce qui permet aux aidants de prendre une pause pour se préparer une tasse de thé, passer un appel ou lire un peu.

Amy Clements-Cortes et Lee Bartel, de l’Université de Toronto, se sont intéressés aux processus de réponse à la thérapie musicale dans leur étude Are We Doing More Than We Know? Possible Mechanisms of Response to Music Therapy. Ils y examinent comment « les projets musicaux menés auprès d’adultes ayant des troubles cognitifs ont fait l’objet d’une attention accrue au cours des dernières années, notamment celui qui mise sur les bienfaits de la musique personnalisée dans les cas d’Alzheimer, ou ceux qui utilisent la musique pour diminuer l’agitation et l’anxiété associées à la démence, ou pour réactiver la mémoire épisodique. »

Selon Louise Noble, « une récente étude publiée dans le Journal of Prevention of Alzheimer’s Disease a mis en évidence que la partie du cerveau responsable de ce qu’on appelle la réponse autonome sensorielle méridienne n’est pas affectée par la maladie d’Alzheimer. Celle-ci a tendance à plonger les gens dans un monde de confusion, et l’étude confirme que la musique parvient parfois à les sortir de ce brouillard et leur apporte un semblant de normalité le temps d’un instant, aussi fugace soit-il. » Elle se souvient d’un moment qui illustre parfaitement ce phénomène. Un participant d’un des programmes de jour était turbulent lors d’une activité particulièrement bruyante et agitée. « Le personnel lui a donné un lecteur MP3, il a fermé les yeux et son état a complètement changé. Il a commencé à taper du pied et à fredonner les paroles de la chanson en totale extase. Il n’était plus du tout anxieux ou perturbé par l’activité autour de lui. »

Dans leur article, Mme Clements-Cortes et M. Bartel insistent sur cette idée : « Selon les recherches, le recours à la musique contribue à réduire l’agitation, l’agressivité, l’irritabilité, la nervosité, les comportements verbaux non désirés et l’errance des personnes atteintes d’Alzheimer. La démence entraîne ce genre de comportements en réponse à un élément présent ou non dans l’environnement. Par exemple, une personne peut s’inquiéter, car elle ne reconnaît pas ce qui l’entoure et ne se sent pas en sécurité. Dans ces moments, lui faire écouter de la musique, et activer le mécanisme d’association d’une émotion ou d’un souvenir, peut faire évoluer son humeur et son ressenti, tout en instaurant chez elle un sentiment de sécurité et de connexion avec une autre personne.

Des personnes de notre collectivité et de partout ailleurs au Canada ont été réconfortées par le simple plaisir d’écouter de la musique. Si vous souhaitez aider un proche à replonger dans la bande originale de sa vie, visitez le site Web du projet musical de la Société Alzheimer, ou communiquez avec l’organisme au 613-224-1400 ou à l’adresse info@ottawarenfrew.alzheimeront.org.

Crédits

  • Images dans l'histoire fournies par la Société Alzheimer
  • Musique dans la baladodiffusion: "Felt Lining", "For We Shall Know Speed", "Bombadore", "Tiny Water Glass" et "Home Home at Last" par Blue Dot Sessions (https://sessions.blue/)