Regular hours resumed Sept. 7, 2021

15/10/2021

Ottawa Public Library has returned to regular pre-pandemic hours at most branches as of September 7, 2021 — including Sunday hours at 10 branches and InfoService. Hours are posted at branch entrances and on the Hours and location page of the OPL website.   

 

Extended curbside service at Alta Vista branch October 16 from 10 am to 5 pm

15/10/2021

The Alta Vista branch will extend curbside services at the rear door and parking lot on Saturday October 16, 2021 from 10 am to 5 pm .The branch will resume regular service on Monday, October 18 at 10 am.  .  

Overdrive: Issues with older Apple devices or browsers

12/10/2021

Recent changes by Overdrive and Libby have impacted compatibility with older versions of Apple's mobile and desktop operating systems. Those who use older Apple devices (Mac computers running lower than macOS 10.12.1 and iPhones/iPads running iOS 9) may have trouble using the OverDrive desktop or mobile apps, while Libby is no longer supported on iPhones and iPads running iOS 9.

Notice: Carlingwood Branch

14/10/2021

The elevator at Carlingwood branch is currently out of service. 

Closure: Centennial Branch

15/10/2021

Centennial Branch will be open from  2 pm  to 5 pm only Saturday October 16,  due to a planned Hydro Ottawa Power outage.

 

You are here

Zoom

Zoom is cloud-based video conferencing service that OPL uses to offer live online programs. Zoom allows video, voice, and screen sharing, as well as chat messages. It can be accessed on computers, laptops, mobile devices and by telephone.

If you will be using a mobile device (phone or tablet), please install the Zoom Meetings app. This is a free app for you and does not require you to create an account.

If you will be using a computer, you can either install the Zoom program or view the program in your web browser.

The downloads are available on the Zoom website.

Zoom has event types: meetings, where all participants who use their camera are seen by everyone on the call, and webinars, where only the panelists and organizers are able to use their cameras. The library uses both of these event types

Zoom meetings are an open forum – please be aware that all participants (not just the OPL presenter) can see you, and into your home, if you choose to have your camera turned on. Simply turn off your camera if you do not want to be visible to others.

The program organizer will tell you at the start of the program if people in the program are able to see each other. 

Yes, they can. Please note that your screen name is visible to everyone. Concerned about privacy? We suggest you change your screen name to something anonymous or use only your first name.

Sometimes the link to the program will be in the program listing. If it isn’t, it means you need to register for the program so we can send you the link in an email. Registrants will receive the link by email at least 1 hour before the program start time. The email will either come from the library or from Eventbrite, depending on the event. 

If the program is about to start and you still haven’t received the link, please follow these steps in order:

  1. Verify the program date and time; links are sent at least 1 hour before the start time.
  2. Check that you are registered for the program.
  3. Look in your junk mail folder for an email with the link.
  4. Make sure you are looking at the email account that was used for the program registration.
  5. Contact us at programs@biblioottawalibrary.ca,including in the email your library barcode number, your name (or your child’s name, if their card was used to register for the program), and the name of the program.

Retour aux heures normales le 7 septembre

15/10/2021

La Bibliothèque publique d’Ottawa a repris ses heures d'ouverture d’avant la pandémie dans la majorité des succursales depuis le 7 septembre 2021, y inclus les heures d’ouverture le dimanche à dix succursales et à InfoService. Les horaires sont affichés à l’entrée des succursales et sur horaires et emplacements dans le site web de la BPO. 

 

Succursale Alta Vista : Retour au service régulier le 22 octobre

27/10/2021

 La succursale Alta Vista est retournée à son service régulier et à ses heures normales le 22 octobre 2021.

 

Overdrive : Problèmes avec les anciens appareils et navigateurs Apple

12/10/2021

Des récentes modifications apportées par Overdrive et Libby ont eu un impact sur leur compatibilité avec les anciennes versions des systèmes d'exploitation mobiles et bureautiques. Les personnes qui utilisent des appareils Apple plus anciens (ordinateurs Mac qui exécutent macOS 10.12.1 et iPhones/iPads qui exécutent iOS 9) peuvent avoir des difficultés avec les applications mobiles et bureautiques d'OverDrive, tandis que Libby ne permet plus les iPhones et iPads qui exécutent iOS 9 (ces liens ne sont disponibles qu'en anglais).

Succursale Carlingwood

18/10/2021

L'ascenseur de la succursale Carlingwood est actuellement hors service.

You are here

Zoom

Zoomest une application informatique dans le nuage utilisée par BPO afin d’offrir des programmes en ligne en direct. Zoom permet le partage de la voix, dela vidéo, et de l’écran, ainsi que des messages de clavardage. Il est accessible sur les ordinateurs, les portables, les appareils mobiles et par téléphone.

Si vous utiliserez un appareil mobile (comme un téléphone ou une tablette), veuillez installer l’application Zoom Meetings. Il s’agit d’une application gratuite pour vous et qui ne vous demandera pas de créer un compte. 

Si vous utiliserez un ordinateur, vous pouvez installer l’application Zoom ou l’utiliser directement dans votre fureteur. 

Les téléchargements sont disponibles sur lesite web de Zoom.

Zoom présente deux types d’évènements: les rencontres, durant lesquelles tous les participants qui utilisent leur caméra peuvent être vus par tous les gens participant dans l’appel, et leswebinaires, durant lesquels seuls les panélistes et les organisateurs peuvent utiliser leur caméra. La bibliothèque utilise ces deux types d’évènement. 

Les rencontres Zoom sont desdiscussions ouvertes– veuillez être conscient.e.sque tousles participants (pas seulement le présentateur de la BPO) peuvent vous voir, et voir dans votre maison, si vous choisissez d’activer votre caméra. Vous n’avez qu’à désactiver votre caméra si vous ne voulez pas être visible pour les autres. 

L’organisateur vous dira au début du programme si les participants du programme peuvent se voir entre eux. 

Oui, ils le peuvent. Veuillez noter que votre nom d’écran est visible par tout le monde. Si vous êtes inquiets de partager cette information, nous vous suggérons de changer votre nom d’écran pour quelque chose d’anonyme, ou d’utiliser uniquement votre prénom. 

Parfois, le lien sera directement dans la description du programme. S’il ne l’est pas, ceci veut dire que vous devez vous inscrire au programme pour que nous puissions vous envoyer le lien par courriel. Les personnes inscrites recevront le lien par courriel au moins 1 heure avant le début du programme.

Si le programme va commencer et que vous n’avez pas encore reçu le lien, veuillez suivre ces étapes en ordre: 

  1. Vérifiez la date et l’heure du programme; les liens sont envoyés au moins 1 heure avant l’heure du début du programme.
  2. Vérifiez que vous êtes bien inscrit.e.s au programme. 
  3. Regardez dans vos pourriels pour le lien. 
  4. Assurez-vous de regarder dans le compte de courriel que vous avez utilisé pour l’inscription. 
  5. Contactez-nous à programs@biblioottawalibrary.ca, en incluant dans le courriel votre numéro de carte de bibliothèque, votre nom (ou le nom de votre enfant, si c’est sa carte que vous avez utilisée pour vous inscrire au programme), et le nom du programme.