Think Outside

View Previous

Of Birds and Bees

Caregiving

Neighbours Helping Neighbours

Photo of two women talking on a porch

A caregiver is someone, often a family member, who regularly looks after someone who is sick, disabled or elderly. “Neighbours Helping Neighbours” encourages individuals to volunteer to give primary caregivers a break in order to reduce their risk of burnout.

A caregiver is someone, often a family member, who regularly looks after someone who is sick, disabled or elderly. While caring for a loved one can be very rewarding, it also involves many stressors. Caregivers often put their loved one first, forgetting to take care of themselves, risking burnout.

The Victorian Order of Nurses (VON) developed a program called “Neighbours Helping Neighbours” (NHN) as a way to encourage individuals to volunteer to give primary caregivers a break at no cost to the care recipient. VON recognized that with the cutbacks to funding and services at all levels of government, the responsibility for caregiving would be on family members, friends, and neighbours. It was obvious that primary caregivers often suffer from burnout and need a temporary break.

VON created a one-day workshop to provide individuals with enough basic information so that they would feel comfortable volunteering to offer respite care in their community. The workshop covers topics such as the role of family in caregiving, boundaries and expectations of the respite and primary caregivers, elder abuse, and how to be a “good neighbour”.

Photo of two women completing a puzzle

Part of the workshop entails brainstorming ideas of activities you can do when caregiving.

When Darlene first heard about the program, she was helping her mother care for her father who has Alzheimer’s and dementia. Her mother is the primary caregiver and Darlene helps as much as she can in her role as secondary caregiver. The Neighbours Helping Neighbours program provided her with the information she was looking for about the caregiver’s role, how to provide respite to a primary caregiver and ideas for activities she could do with her father. In fact, it enabled her to identify the symptoms of burnout in her mother and provided her the resources to seek additional professional respite care for her father in order for her mother to get the breaks she needed. Darlene valued her new knowledge so much that she later became a facilitator through a “train the trainer” workshop.

VON developed the one-day “train the trainer” session in order to prepare people as facilitators who would deliver the NHN workshops in their communities. In 2014 several members of the National Association of Federal Retirees (NAFR) participated in the training.

When the Ottawa branch of VON ceased operations in 2016, the Ottawa Branch of the National Association of Federal Retirees elected to continue delivering the workshops, not just to its members, but also to any group of individuals or organization that requested them. The workshops are offered in both English and French. The facilitators volunteer their time to deliver the workshops at no cost to the host organization.

Hélène Valin has been a facilitator for Neighbours Helping Neighbours since 2015. As the primary caregiver for her 97-year-old mother, she has first-hand knowledge and understanding of the stress involved and knows just how important it is to receive respite as a caregiver: “As a caregiver, you know that you need respite to be able to function better. But [it’s challenging] having people come in and stay with your family member, you want someone that knows what respite is.” When a request for more facilitators was made, she jumped on the opportunity to provide informational workshops to people. Hélène says the workshop “provides participants with an idea of the various components required to provide respite and it gives them a sense of what is respite and what it is not. So it takes away the fear of providing respite for neighbours, knowing exactly what they should be doing and what they shouldn’t.”

Shelagh Tuddenham, coordinator of Neighbours Helping Neighbours in Ottawa, thinks everyone would benefit from the program “whether it be someone who wants to be a respite caregiver, whether it’s a primary caregiver who is looking for encouragement to seek out help, or a family member who wants information about the caregiving role.”

At the end of the day, this workshop provides information and resources about what you can do to help your neighbour.

For more information about the “Neighbours Helping Neighbours” program, please contact the Ottawa Branch of the National Association of Federal Retirees at 613-737-2199.

Credits

Music

Video

Caregivers

View Previous

Career development

Les proches-aidants

Entre voisins on s’entraide

Photo of two women talking on a porch

Un aidant est quelqu’un qui s’occupe d’une personne, souvent un membre de sa famille, qui est malade, handicapée ou âgée. "Entre voisins on s'entraide" encourage les gens à donner un répit aux aidants principaux afin de réduire le risque d'épuisement.

Un aidant est quelqu’un qui s’occupe d’une personne, souvent un membre de sa famille, qui est malade, handicapée ou âgée. Prendre soin d’un être cher peut être très valorisant, mais c’est loin d’être de tout repos. Il n’est pas rare pour un aidant de faire passer les intérêts de son bénéficiaire avant les siens, ce qui peut mener à l’épuisement.

L’organisme Infirmières de l’Ordre de Victoria (VON) a donc mis sur pied le programme "Entre voisins on s'entraide" afin d’inciter les gens à donner un répit aux aidants principaux, sans frais pour les bénéficiaires. VON est conscient de l’effet des restrictions du financement et des services à tous les ordres de gouvernement; il incombe maintenant aux familles, aux amis et aux voisins d’assumer le rôle d’aidant. Cette situation épuise souvent les aidants principaux, et ils ont besoin d’une pause.

VON a monté un atelier d’un jour sur les soins de relève pour former des bénévoles aptes à venir en aide aux membres de leur communauté. L’atelier portait entre autres sur l’importance de la famille dans les soins, les limites et les attentes inhérentes aux rôles d’aidants principal et de relève, les mauvais traitements infligés aux personnes âgées et les bonnes relations entre voisins.

Photo de deux femmes qui complète un casse-tête.

Une partie de l'atelier est dédiée à une séance de remue-méninges, pour trouver des idées d'activités que vous pouvez faire en tant qu'aidant.

Quand Darlene a découvert le programme, sa mère était l’aidante principale de son père atteint de la maladie d’Alzheimer et de démence. Darlene l’appuyait au mieux de ses connaissances, mais c’est Entre voisins qui a su lui donner de l’aisance dans son rôle d’aidante secondaire : elle a appris à prodiguer des soins de relève et a reçu des suggestions d’activités à faire avec son père. Le programme lui a même permis de reconnaître que sa mère souffrait de symptômes d’épuisement et l’a aidée à trouver des soins de relève professionnels pour que sa mère puisse prendre le temps de souffler. Les nouvelles connaissances de Darlene se sont révélées si précieuses qu’elle a même participé à une activité de formation des formateurs pour devenir elle-même animatrice.

L’activité de formation des formateurs a été mise sur pied par VON pour enseigner aux intéressés à animer des ateliers d’Entre voisins dans leur communauté. En 2014, plusieurs membres de l’Association nationale des retraités fédéraux (ANRF) ont suivi la formation.

Lorsque VON a cessé ses activités à Ottawa en 2016, c’est la Section d’Ottawa de l’ANRF qui a repris le flambeau. Elle offre des ateliers à ses membres, mais aussi à tout groupe ou organisme qui en fait la demande, en français comme en anglais. Les animateurs font leur travail bénévolement, de sorte que les demandeurs n’ont aucuns frais à payer.

Hélène Valin est animatrice depuis 2015. Aidante principale pour sa mère de 97 ans, elle ne comprend et ne connaît que trop bien le stress qu’apporte ce travail et sait à quel point un moment de répit peut être bénéfique. « Les aidants savent qu’ils auraient besoin d’aide et de repos pour bien faire leur travail. Mais [ce n’est pas facile] de laisser un membre de sa famille entre les mains d’une autre personne : il faut qu’elle sache comment prodiguer des soins de relève. » Hélène n’a pas hésité lorsque l’occasion d’animer des ateliers instructifs s’est présentée. Elle dit qu’Entre voisins « aide les participants à comprendre les qualités, les responsabilités et les limites inhérentes aux soins de relève. En apprenant exactement quoi faire et quoi ne pas faire, ils trouvent la confiance nécessaire pour venir en aide à leurs voisins. »

Selon Shelagh Tuddenham, coordinatrice d’Entre voisins à Ottawa, le programme bénéficie à tout le monde, « des aspirants aidants de relève aux aidants principaux à la recherche de courage pour demander de l’aide, en passant par les familles qui veulent s’instruire sur le rôle d’aidant. »

En bref, l’atelier présente de l’information et des ressources à ceux qui veulent venir en aide à leur entourage.

Pour de plus amples renseignements au sujet du programme Entre voisins, communiquez avec la Section d’Ottawa de l’ANRF, au 613‑737‑2199.

Crédits

Musique

Vidéo

  • L'Appui pour les proches aidants d'aînés. (2018, Oct 1). L"Appui: témoignages de proches aidants d'aînés. Récupérer de https://youtu.be/_vRDbtSjIXg